Little Known Facts about Overtime

According to § 778.419 (see section below), if your hourly employee is performing two or more different jobs during the week and is paid different amounts for each job AND the employee works overtime hours during that 7-day workweek, the employee can agree that the overtime premium can be 1.5 times the hourly rate of

THERE’S A NEW W-4 FORM FOR 2020

HERE’S WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW In August, the Internal Revenue Service issued a major revision to the 2020 W-4 form (click here to see the DRAFT version).  The official version has NOT been released yet. By releasing the nearly-finalized version now, the IRS hopes it will give employers and payroll processors extra time to learn
Employees who make less than $35,568 must now be raised to that level or be reclassified as non-exempt/hourly employees.  If employers reclassify these employees to non-exempt/hourly, the employee would be eligible for overtime pay under a final rule issued by the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). The new rate will take effect Jan. 1, 2020. To be exempt from

AB-51 Signed into Law

On October 10, 2019, Governor Gavin Newson signed into law AB 51, which bans the use of mandatory arbitration agreements in employment contracts beginning on January 1, 2020. Previously, an employer was able to require employees and prospective employees to agree to arbitration to resolve almost any and all disputes between the employee and the

7 Reasons to Outsource HR

Most business owners agree that their employees are their most valuable assets. As such, managing human resources has become a critical role in managing a business. Yet for some businesses, the various functions of the HR department are too comprehensive and complex to maintain in-house. That said, in order to HR a senior HR professional
\With unemployment at an all-time low, employers are scrambling to find good employees and may be tempted to use short-cuts to fill their positions.  One short-cut decision that could come back to haunt an employer is to skip a criminal background check on your new-hires.  Did you know that nearly 1 in 3 adults in
Tagged under:
Several of our clients have recently asked, “how long do I need to retain documents in someone’s personnel file”? There is no set period of time that applies to all documents.  It is dependent on current laws or statutes.   Below is a table that PlatinumHR has created that shows the various documents, the governing body

California Minimum Wage

Effective Jan. 1, 2019, the statewide minimum wage in California increased from $10.50 to $10.00 for employers with less than 25 employees and from $11 to $12 per hour for employers with more than 25 employees. This also impacts other wage and hour obligations, such as the minimum salary requirement for exempt employees, which increased to
The OSHA 300a log is part of a federal requirement concerning safety in the workplace. It is a form that must be filled out by employers and displayed in a visible area. The log records all applicable injuries or illnesses that occur in the workplace.  The types of injuries/illness that must be logged and reported
Final rules from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on employment-based wellness programs raise the maximum reward that may be offered by certain wellness programs and expand nondiscrimination protections for sick employees. The final rules under President Barack Obama’s Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act were issued May 29 and will be effective
Tagged under: ,